Red Bull’s ‘Canvas Cooler’ project (an initiative developed in the UK) has planted its roots in the United States and given a new face by San Francisco based creative agency Term of Art. The Canvas Cooler concept centers around the customization of specially canvas wrapped Red Bull fridges, which once completed will live on as functional pieces of art in a selection of social gathering venues in San Francisco neighborhoods that cultivate innovation in art.

International Graffiti artist Ben Eine helped to kick the project off of the ground in the UK, and since then it has been gathering quite a bit of momentum and attention here in the US.

The Canvas Cooler project features the work of San Francisco’s most innovative artists, each rendering work on the fridges in their own unique styles ranging from graphic illustrations to street art to traditional painting. The selected artists are ultimately paired with a venue that inspires their unique style and is located in a neighborhood they socialize in.

“Canvas Cooler San Francisco is a valuable and stimulating experience: fine talents making functional works of art, bringing the community together through creative processes, and using form and function to express individualism all connecting to the greater project,” Says Robert Christian Malmberg, Director of the film project for Canvas Cooler SF.

A special event sponsored by Red Bull and White Walls Gallery to kick-off the US Canvas Cooler initiative will be held on November 3rd at 941 Geary Gallery in San Francisco’s Tenderloin district. 20 Canvas Coolers will be on display to the public, doubling as an opportunity to meet the artist’s and view their creations for the first time before the works move to their respective venues for full time exhibition, this party is not to miss!

Individual artist reception and cooler launch events will follow at the selected venues then the program will move onward to Los Angeles, New York, and Miami in 2012.

Venues include 111 Minna, Ambassador, Double Dutch, Skylark, Maroc, Chambers, Brixton, and Matrix and more.

Artists include D Young V (www.dyoungv.com), Akira Beard (http://akirabeard.com/), Kelly Allen (www.KellyAllen.com), Erik Otto (www.erikotto.com), Chor Boogie (www.chorboogie.com), APEX (www.fatcap.com/artist/apex.html), Ian Ross (ianrossart.com), Charmaine Olivia (charmaineolivia.com), Jessica Hess (jessicahess.com), Hugh Leeman (hughleeman.com), Estria (estria.net), and Brett Amory (brettamory.com) and others.

For more on Term of Art: Term of Art on Facebook

To visit the Canvas Cooler event page check out: http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=241364819251686

For more on 941 Geary Gallery: http://www.941Geary.com

 

Comments

comments